St. James Music Press

enter keyword

Carol McClure Four Little Angels

Anthems, , Children's Music
Cello, Harp, Keyboard [organ/piano]
Children's Choir
Suggested Uses(s)

  • Text Source: Shaker, from the songbook of Sister Mary Hazard
  • Tune Source: Shaker, Sabbathday Lake
  • Worship Use: General /Praise/Choir Dedication
  • Vocal Part(s):  Three-part (canon)                        
  •  Vocal Range: All parts, e flat – e flat’
  • Key: A flat major                                      
  • Meter: 2/4
  • Accompanying Instrument(s): violoncello and harp (or piano or organ)

Target Age Group: Grades 3-6

Description: Four Little Angels is a charming, exuberant anthem culminating in a three-part canonical presentation of the repeated stanza.  One of six Shaker source anthems offered in the Viva Voce 2011-2012 curriculum, this anthem provides an opportunity for choristers to work on diction in a quickly-paced anthem. The setting is Bartok-like in character, very appropriate in worship as a choral introit or anthem, or in a Spring concert presentation.

Anthem Warm-Ups

  • bars 5-6: “Four little angels ” - intervallic tuning
  • random bars: solfege singing of parts for interval awareness

Teaching Points

  • Rhythm/Meter: Executing exact performance of 8th note followed by two 16th notes rhythm pattern; executing a dance-like feel in 2/4, not over-emphasizing the second beat of each bar
  • Intervallic Tuning: Tuning melodic ascending and descending thirds and tuning harmonic intervals among the three parts of the canon
  • Music History: Learning about early Shaker tunes and texts
  • Music History/Style Exploration: Listening to/watching a variety of choral performances of Shaker music

Four little angels stand in a ring
Calling us to sing! sing! sing!
O sing little children,
Sing to God up above;
Come sing with the angels
Bringing news of God's love.








Mark Schweizer
P.O. Box 249
Tryon, North Carolina 28782
Phone 828.859.0323
Toll Free 877.822.0304


Enter your email address to receive emails about special offers and free music

Website crafted by OrangeCoat