St. James Music Press

enter keyword

Composer Robert S. Cohen

Robert S. Cohen - Small Photo
b. 1945

Robert S. Cohen, born in New York City, has written music for chorus, orchestra, chamber ensemble, dance and theatre and has been the recipient of numerous awards and commissions, including a New Jersey State Council on the Arts Fellowship, an American Music Center Grant, a Meet the Composer Award, New York Composer’s Circle Award, the 2011 New England String Quartet International Composition Competition and several grants from the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation.  His numerous choral and instrumental works have been performed in such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall, Severance Hall, Symphony Space, Bargemusic & the Sofia Opera House. Alzheimer’s Stories for soloists, chorus and large ensemble with a libretto by 2012 Grammy winner Herschel Garfein has been performed throughout the U.S. and Europe. He is published by Edition Peters, Hal Leonard, St. James Music Press, Shawnee Press, Absolute Brass, Brass Online, Dramatic Publishing, HoneyRock Music and his own Leapfrog Productions.
In addition, Bob co-authored the book and composed the score for the 2000 Richard Rodgers Award winning Off-Broadway musical Suburb. Bob is a graduate of Brown University, Queens College and served time at Columbia University. He currently lives in Upper Montclair, N.J. with his wife Maryann and two cats: Fred & Ginger.

You can visit Robert's website here.


Mark Schweizer
P.O. Box 249
Tryon, North Carolina 28782
Phone 828.859.0323
Toll Free 877.822.0304


Enter your email address to receive emails about special offers and free music

Website crafted by OrangeCoat